top of page

Understanding the EYFS

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the statuary framework that all Early Years Providers must work to. Early Years is from birth to the age of 5.

The EYFS framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

It sets out: 

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep children safe and promote their welfare

  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with children's play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge

  •  Assessments that will tell you about children's progress through the EYFS

  •  Expected levels that children should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)”

For more information on the EYFS see the Foundation Years Website

Kindergarten Guide
bottom of page